House Martell. Non-Loyal.
Character. Cost: 3. STR: 3.

Bastard. Sand Snake.

Obara Sand may be declared as a defender during challenges in which you are the defending player, even while kneeling.

"Cersei sent us a head. We should send her back a bag of them."
Tristan Denecke
Core Set #108.

Link: Decklists

Obara Sand
Reviews

Rules FAQ

There are two requirements that a character must meet in order to be declared as an attacker or defender:

  1. Have the appropriate challenge icon.
  2. Be standing when the player declared them.

The first part of Obara's ability, "Obara Sand may be declared as a defender during [Power] challenges in which you are the defending player..." provides a direct exception to #1, letting you declare her as a defender in a POW challenge initiated against you whether she has the icon or not.

The second part of her ability, "...even while kneeling," provides a direct exception to #2, allowing her to be declared as a defender in these challenges whether she is standing or kneeling.

However, even though Obara's ability provides exceptions to the requirements a character must usually meet in order to be declared as a defender, she still must actually be declared​. (Compare this to Jon Snow, for example, whose ability doesn't "declare" him as an attacker - he is simply considered to be one.)

That's why Stealth works against Obara. Stealth puts an absolute bar on being declared as a defender, whether the character meets the normal requirements or not.

@scantrell24 if she's standing, dose she defend the power challenge without kneeling? — s.the.dornishman 1
@s.the.dornishman No, she will kneel. There's nothing in her card that says, 'without kneeling'. — omgitsblake 160