House Targaryen. Loyal.
Character. Cost: 1. STR: 1.

Lord.

Interrupt: When Viserys Targaryen leaves play, choose an attachment, and discard it from play.

"When they write the history of my reign, sweet sister, they will say it began tonight."
Sebastian Giacobino
Core Set #167.

Link: Decklists

Viserys Targaryen
Reviews

Rules FAQ

As with all Interrupts, Viserys' ability is triggered and resolves before whatever it is interrupting resolves. This means that whatever attachment is chosen and discarded by Viserys leaves play before Viserys (and any character leaving play at the same time in the case of Marched or Wildfire) leaves play.

So if Viserys and a Robb Stark with Ice attached are both Marched, Viserys can discard the Ice before Robb is discarded. So Ice moves to the discard pile, not it's owner's hand.

A question : If a Valar is played, and that the Targaryen player have Viserys on board, but also Tourney Grounds + Blood Magic Ritual, is Viserys before or after BMR ? — Benji 321
"When X would happen" interrupts (e.g. saves) have priority over "When X happens" interrupts (e.g. Viserys). So, BMR first, then Viserys. — mplain 171
Note that Tourney Grounds' ability is an Action, you cannot use it until after Valar resolves and the action window opens. You'd need hard gold in this situation, or a discount for events (e.g. Paxter Redwyne, Littlefinger's Meddling). — mplain 171

Rules FAQ:

  • If multiple characters are killed simultaneously (e.g. by Valar Morghulis), you cannot trigger Viserys to discard a Bodyguard before your opponent can use it. "Would" interrupts have priority over non-Would interrupts (see The word "Would"), so saves are triggered first, before any "when killed / leaves play" interrupts.
mplain 171