House Martell. Loyal.
Event. Cost: 2.

Interrupt: When claim is applied for a challenge in which you are the defending player, choose an opponent. That player must satisfy the normal claim effect instead of you as if he or she were the defending player.

Jan-Wah Li
Calm over Westeros #96.

Link: Decklists

Vengeance for Elia

Rules FAQ

  • From RRG pg 18: A replacement effect is an effect (usually an interrupt) that replaces the resolution of a triggering condition with a different means of resolving that same triggering condition, but in such a manner that the triggering condition is still considered to occur. The word 'instead' is frequently indicative of such an effect. After all interrupts to the triggering condition have resolved and it is time to resolve the triggering condition itself, the replacement effect resolves instead.

  • Claim replacement effects are triggered during the C step of DUCK (after Determining the winner and gaining the Unopposed bonus but before Claim is applied). These effects do not resolve immediately, rather they modify the way claim will be applied after all interrupts are played. For example, with Seastone Chair you choose a character, and set up an effect that will kill that character when claim resolves. But after you trigger Seastone Chair, and before you resolve claim, your opponent might play his own interrupt to applying claim (like Vengeance of Elia) and set up a new effect that will modify the way in which claim will resolve. This new replacement effect will override the previous one. Once all players are done playing Interrupts to "when claim is applied", resolve the claim in accordance with the most recently played replacement effect.

  • During a power challenge, the winner applies claim by moving power from his Faction card to his faction card, so essentially nothing happens. It does prevent the losing player from losing power though.

  • Vengeance treats the player satisfying claim as if he or she were the defending player (and the only defending player, because of the word “the") at the precise moment that claim is satisfied, for the purpose of satisfying claim only. This scope allows for effects that modify claim while you are the defending player, and serves as a triggering condition for "after you satisfy claim as the defending player," but that's about it.

  • For example, if you have Calm revealed, attack in the chosen challenge type, and have claim redirected at you with Vengeance for Elia, claim will be modified by Calm and reduced by 1.

  • If you attack an opponent who has Calm revealed and he or she plays Vengeance for Elia, claim will NOT be reduced when it's redirected.
So does this mean that if you are first player and use this, then a Greyjoy uses Seastone Chair, that chair will go through? Just trying to translate the official rules into plain reading. — MackJaeger 8
That is correct. The last triggered interrupt card (with a replacement effect) will be the one that sticks. So in your example, if you were Martell and FP you would pass your interrupt and wait to see if the Greyjoy uses Seastone. — Cyggie 2
...but if I wait and he dont use he seastone i dont have to chance to play this, because we both pass on interrupts right? — sirajch 18
Correct. — scantrell24 3328
What happens when you military with a Calm Over Westeros as your plot, and then your opponent plays vengeance? — Kidlet1490 15
anyone have a good idea how this works in melee if i ask master of ships rival to satisfy the claim? — ReiNijs 7
Can you play Vengance multiple times in one challenge? — Dave007 1