Lord Protector of the Vale

Rules FAQ

  • See FAQ entry 2.10 (Characters contributing their STR) for how this mechanic works.

  • You only need to control a participating House Arryn character at the time you trigger the ability. If that character later leaves play or is removed from the challenge, it will not retroactively cancel the ability. Attached character will continue to contribute its STR to the challenge.

  • You can use the ability even if attached character is kneeling or does not have the icon. Lord Protector of the Vale will not kneel the character or make it participate in the challenge.

  • Any character that is only contributing its STR to your side (without actually participating in the challenge) will not be able to trigger reactions in step D of the D.U.C.K. sequence (for instance, Bronze Yohn Royce), nor use any of its keywords in step K.

  • Abilities that refer to a character attacking or defending alone (such as Name Day Tourney) still work even if another character is contributing its STR to your side via Lord Protector of the Vale.

1162
Anya Waynwood

Rules FAQ

  • See FAQ entry 2.10 (Characters contributing their STR) for how this mechanic works.

  • You can choose a kneeling character, a character without the corresponding challenge icon, or a character controlled by an opponent. Anya will not kneel that character or make it participate in the challenge. If the character chosen by Anya later becomes participating (for instance, due to being declared as a defender), that will "override" Anya’s ability.

  • Any character that is only contributing its STR to your side (without actually participating in the challenge) will not be able to trigger reactions in step D of the D.U.C.K. sequence (for instance, Greatjon Umber), nor use any of its keywords in step K.

  • Abilities that refer to a character attacking or defending alone (such as Mirri Maz Duur or Jaqen H'ghar) still work even if another character is contributing its STR to your side via Anya’s ability.

1162
Sweetrobin

Rules FAQ

  • See Alla Tyrell for previous rulings on how this mechanic works. I will only add rulings that are unique to Sweetrobin below.

  • A quantity cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero. If a player’s initiative value is a negative number, it will be treated as 0, so Sweetrobin will be able to target cards that player reveals with printed cost 0.

  • Cards with printed cost "-" have no printed cost, so Sweetrobin cannot interact with them. (See Printed cost of shadows cards.)

  • If you search for a card with A Time For Wolves, Iron Victory's Crew, or At the Gates, that card is still revealed even if you intend to put it into play, so Sweetrobin can remove it from the game first. Other search effects that put a card directly into play usually do not require you to reveal that card, but Devan Seaworth is an exception (presumably due to an oversight), so Sweetrobin works against Devan as well.

  • If Alla Tyrell is revealed from a player’s hand or deck while Sweetrobin is in play, the two cards share the same interrupt window. If Sweetrobin is triggered first, Alla can no longer be put into play. If Alla is triggered first, Sweetrobin can no longer remove her from the game.

  • Some of the other non-search effects that Sweetrobin can mess up are Citadel Novice, Dothraki Handmaiden, Gates of Winterfell, I Never Bet Against My Family, Jon Connington, Maege Mormont, Nightfort Builder, Randyll Tarly (JS), Ser Mark Mullendore, and The Higher Mysteries. With Pentos, you cannot put the attachment into play after Sweetrobin removes it from the game, nor do you get to draw a card. With Renly Baratheon (FFH), you still draw a card even if Sweetrobin removes your revealed card from the game.

  • Sweetrobin can alter how some abilities resolve, because cards those abilities interact with might no longer be in their specified areas. A few examples... If Sweetrobin removes the card revealed by Called Into Service, it is impossible to draw that card or put it into play, but you can still gain 2 gold. If Sweetrobin removes one of the cards revealed by White Harbor, the losing opponent is forced to add the only remaining card to your hand. When resolving Summoned to Court, if Sweetrobin removes the only character with the lowest printed cost from the game, no player can put any revealed character into play. With Haldon Halfmaester, you cannot draw an event or put Aegon Targaryen into play, but you can still place gold on a card with the same cardtype. With Womb of the World, if the card that would have been put into play is removed from the game, that card is no longer "eligible" to be put into play. Another card is put into play instead, if possible.

1162