Ser Barristan Selmy

Rules FAQ

  • Each reaction may only be initiated once each time its specified triggering condition occurs, so you cannot discard multiple cards from your hand to raise the claim value by more than 1 with Ser Barristan Selmy.
1159
Grey Wind

Rules FAQ

  • A triggered ability is any ability with a boldface precursor, such as an Action or a Reaction. Grey Wind can also cancel your own triggered character abilities, as well as any forced abilities on characters.

  • The limit once per phase (on both abilities) is reset if Grey Wind leaves and re-enters play. (See Limits and Maxima.) Using the Action ability to move Grey Wind to a different character will not reset the limit though.

  • Attaching Grey Wind to a character that was bypassed by stealth will not allow that character to be declared as a defender in that challenge. Attaching Grey Wind to an attacking character during a challenge will not do anything either, because stealth targets are chosen when the challenge is initiated. If you want to benefit from a particular character having the stealth keyword, you need to move Grey Wind to that character before the challenge is initiated.

  • You may include both the character and the attachment version of Grey Wind in your deck, but you can still only have a total of 3 cards with the title “Grey Wind”. If you have Grey Wind the character in play, Grey Wind the attachment can enter play as a duplicate, and vice versa. If the character is in your dead pile, the attachment cannot enter play.

1159
You Know Nothing

Rules FAQ

  • If an effect causes a card to lose "all" of a given attribute (such as keywords, traits, or faction affiliations), that card loses each instance of each of those attributes. For instance, if an effect causes a character to "lose all keywords," that character will have no keywords (even if another effect would cause it to have multiple instances of a given keyword). (See The Word “All”.)

  • Event card effects engage the game state at the time they resolve. If an event card creates a lasting effect on a set of cards, only cards that are in play at the time the event card is played are eligible to be affected. Cards that enter play after the resolution of the event are not affected by its lasting effect. (See Event Cards.) In the case of You Know Nothing, this also means that the lasting effect (losing all keywords) is applied to the characters that meet the required characteristics at the time the event is played. If a character gains or loses the Army trait, or changes control at a later time, the lasting effect affecting that character (or not affecting it) will not retroactively change.

1159
Old Bear's Raven

Rules FAQ

  • You can only trigger Old Bear’s Raven if Old Bear Mormont is in play (even if you do not control him), and only if he is kneeling.

  • Max twice per round (as opposed to “limit”) means you can only trigger this Action twice per round between all cards with the title “Old Bear’s Raven”. The Max does not reset when Old Bear’s Raven leaves play. (See Limits and Maxima.)

1159
Great Ranging

Rules FAQ

  • You can find two copies of Great Ranging with Fresh Recruits, one for the Ranger trait and one for the Steward trait. Great Ranging will also count towards both traits for Westwatch-by-the-Bridge. When checking play restrictions for The Horn that Wakes the Sleepers, Great Ranging is a valid target for two of the three specified traits, so you only need to control another Builder character in order to be able to play the event. That said, you are not forced to choose Great Ranging for both traits if you have other options available.
1159