Lady

Rules FAQ

  • You can use Lady to save the card from various effects that would cause it to leave play, including being killed, discarded from play, returned to your hand, removed from the game, placed on top of your deck, etc. You cannot save the card from being sacrificed, from terminal burn, or from any effect that says "cannot be saved". You cannot save the card if it would leave play as part of the cost of initiating an ability (for instance, Grey Wind (FtR)).

  • You may include both the character and the attachment version of Lady in your deck, but you can still only have a total of 3 cards with the title "Lady". If you have Lady the character in play, Lady the attachment can enter play as a duplicate, and vice versa. If the character is in your dead pile, the attachment cannot enter play.

1159
Bran Stark

Rules FAQ

  • Old Gods characters can still be knelt to pay costs (including Winterfell Castle (BtB)), as costs are not effects. (See Ygritte.)

  • A replacement effect is an effect (usually an interrupt) that replaces the resolution of a triggering condition with a different means of resolving that same triggering condition, but in such a manner that the triggering condition is still considered to occur. The word "instead" is frequently indicative of a such an effect. After all interrupts to the triggering condition have resolved and it is time to resolve the triggering condition itself, the replacement effect resolves instead. If multiple replacement effects are initiated against the same triggering condition, the most recent replacement effect is the one that is used for the resolution of the triggering condition. (See Replacement Effects.)

  • You look at the defending player's hand when claim is applied. If another replacement effect was used after Bran, that effect is the one that resolves and you never see the defending player's hand.

  • You can trigger the interrupt even when you are the defending player.

  • If the claim value is higher than the number of cards in the defending player’s hand, all the cards will be discarded. If the claim value is 0, you can still use Bran to look at an opponent’s hand.

  • If Bran’s ability discards Obella Sand or False Plans, the reaction on those cards cannot be triggered, as they are not considered to have been discarded "for claim". (See previous ruling on Podrick Payne and The Seastone Chair.)

  • You cannot use Master of Whispers to discard cards from multiple hands. (See FAQ.)

1159
First Builder

Rules FAQ

  • You can trigger First Builder even if attached character is not participating in the challenge.
1159
Castle Black

Rules FAQ

  • If Castle Black is targeted using assault, it will already be blank at the time its Reaction ability could be triggered. Assault happens as part of initiating the challenge, before the reaction window opens.

  • Castle Black shares the same reaction window with Storm's End (BtB) and Winterfell. If you use the Interrupt to cancel them, you can then use the Reaction in that same window to stand Castle Black again. If Castle Black is already kneeling and you are first player, you can use the Reaction first to stand it, then use the Interrupt to cancel those locations.

1159
Samwell Tarly

Rules FAQ

  • Resolve each part of the effect that meets its condition. In other words, if your reserve value is 10 or higher, you resolve all three parts of the effect.

  • If your reserve value is 10 or higher and there is an eligible character you can stand, you must stand a character, even if it is controlled by an opponent. You cannot decline to resolve that part of the effect just to avoid making an unfavourable choice. However, you can still decline to trigger the ability in the first place, as reactions are always optional.

1159