Alla Tyrell

Rules FAQ

  • If a search effect instructs you to "reveal" the searched-for card and you reveal Alla, you can use her ability to immediately put her into play. If the original effect was supposed to add her to your hand (or something along those lines), that part of the effect will fail to resolve and Alla will stay in play. Note that you must reveal Alla for this to happen though, simply seeing her among the cards you search through will not allow you to trigger her.

  • If a portion of a player’s deck is revealed (for instance, with Exchange of Information or A Gift of Arbor Red), and Alla is among those cards, she can be put into play before any choice is made. The player using those cards must then choose among the remaining options.

  • Cards like Oldtown or Hightower Spy, whose resolution depends on what card is revealed, still resolve like normal even if Alla is put into play via her interrupt. In other words, you still gain 1 power for Oldtown if you named the character cardtype, and you still get +3 STR for Hightower Spy. If you reveal Alla for There Is My Claim and put her into play, you are still considered to have revealed 4 characters, so the cost is paid successfully.

  • If you reveal Alla with Highgarden (BtB) and put her into play, she still counts towards the number of unique characters you revealed. You will not be able to choose her to get any STR increase though, because she was not established as a legal option in Step 1 of initiating that ability. (See FAQ.)

  • If Alla is revealed with Greensight or Jojen Reed and you put her into play, it will not cause the next card to become revealed. If the option to "discard those cards" is chosen, only the ones that remain revealed will be discarded.

  • If Alla is revealed by Ser Mark Mullendore and you use her interrupt to put her into play, you do not place Ser Mark on top of your deck. It was not his ability that put Alla into play, so the "if you do" part of his text does not apply.

  • You can put Alla into play if she is revealed by Stolen Message, but only immediately when she is first revealed. If you miss that window, you can no longer use her interrupt, unless she somehow becomes unrevealed and revealed again.

  • Alla can only be "revealed" by card abilities that specifically use that word. If players can see her by some other means (such as when she is shown as part of checking play restrictions, for instance), she is not considered to be revealed.

  • Any ability that lets you "look" at cards in an opponent’s hand or deck does not "reveal" those cards, even if both players know their identity as a result.

1159
The Great Pyramid

Rules FAQ

  • If you have cards under multiple Meereen locations (see Meereen), you can marshal or play them a total of two times per round between all of those locations. You cannot put those cards into play in any other way though (like ambush, or the ability of Qotho), nor can you discard them to pay costs.

  • If you have already marshaled or played two cards from under a Meereen location, and then The Great Pyramid leaves and re-enters play in the same round, you do not have permission to marshal or play any additional cards with it.

  • If an opponent takes control of The Great Pyramid, that player may look at the facedown cards you placed under it and marshal or play them as if they were in his or her hand. You may do the same with any facedown cards an opponent placed under a Meereen location you control, as long as you control The Great Pyramid. (Source.)

  • The limit twice per round is a limit on how many times you can trigger the Reaction ability, not a limit on the number of individual cards you can place under The Great Pyramid. If a number of cards are discarded at the same time (for claim, reserve, or for a card like Incinerate), you place all of them under The Great Pyramid.

  • The Great Pyramid shares the reaction window with other cards that react to cards being discarded from hand or placed in the discard pile. If another card removes them from the discard pile (for instance, Citadel Archivist or Now My Watch Begins) before you trigger the Pyramid, you will no longer be able to find those cards in the discard pile and put them under the Pyramid. Also note that interrupts happen before reactions, so Ser Meryn Trant can individually remove all the cards from the game before any of them are placed under the Pyramid.

1159
Warlock of Qarth

Rules FAQ

  • If the character is unique and there is another copy of it in the dead pile, you cannot put it into play. You also cannot put it into play if a copy of it is in your dead pile, or if a copy of it is already in play under your or its owner's control. (See FAQ.)

  • At the end of the phase, the character is "placed" back in the dead pile. This is different to being "killed", so card abilities that interrupt or react to a character being killed cannot be used.

  • A character can enter the dead pile if it is killed, or by being placed there directly by a card effect (such as Crone of Vaes Dothrak). Warlock of Qarth can react in either of those cases. It can even react to a character being placed in the dead pile by the delayed effect of another copy of Warlock of Qarth. In that case, the timing point of its delayed effect is immediately reached, so the character is placed back in the dead pile before any reactions to entering play (forced or otherwise) can be triggered. For example, if that character is Alester Florent, you will not have time to trigger his reaction to entering play, but you will have time to trigger his interrupt to leaving play.

1159
Ser Rolly Duckfield

Rules FAQ

  • If the character is killed by Valar Morghulis (or a similar card that affects the entire board), and you discard Missandei and put her into play with her ability, Missandei will not be killed. Same story if you put a character into play with Reznak mo Reznak. Note that Reznak reacts to the cost of Ser Rolly's ability, so he will still be in play and can be triggered even if he is about to be killed himself.
1159
Winterfell Castle

Rules FAQ

  • The constant ability continuously checks the game state for the character with the highest printed cost. For instance, if Jory Cassel is that character and you marshal Greatjon Umber, Jory will immediately stop gaining the Old Gods trait and insight. This would also happen if Jory somehow lost the affiliation.

  • The constant ability of Bran Stark (BtB) will not prevent you from kneeling your Old Gods cards to save them, as costs are not effects. Note that you cannot kneel your opponents' Old Gods cards with Winterfell Castle though, as costs cannot be paid with an opponent's game elements.

1159