Anya Waynwood

The way it's written, it seems like Anya Waynwood could kneel an enemy neutral location for her ability cost. Do I understand correct?

Kneeling is a cost and you can never use opponent —
Kneeling is a cost here and you can never use opponent's cards to pay a cost. —
Banner of the Falcon

Rules FAQ

  • The deckbuilding restriction refers to your draw deck. Plots with the House Arryn trait (such as Wardens of the East) will not count towards the 12 House Arryn cards you must include in your deck, and neither will Banner of the Falcon itself.

  • Cards that are not in play do not count towards the number of House Arryn cards you control. That includes Banner of the Falcon, since agenda cards are not considered to be in play. Your revealed plot card is considered to be in play though, so it will increase your number if it has the House Arryn trait.

  • A quantity cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero. If your initiative value is a negative number, it will be treated as 0, so your loyal characters will not get +1 STR if you control no House Arryn cards.

1162
Wardens of the East

Rules FAQ

  • An in-faction card is any card that matches the affiliation of your chosen faction. If your deck includes cards from another faction, those cards are considered to be "out of faction". Cards that have no faction affiliation are considered to be neutral. Neutral and out-of-faction events are not affected by the ability of Wardens of the East.

  • You can play "The Winter Maid" to interrupt the revealing of Wardens of the East, because the plot’s ability is not active yet. However, you cannot play it to interrupt the revealing of the next plot, as the ability of Wardens of the East is still active then. It is the opposite with events that would be played later in the plot phase, such as Ahead of the Tide or Someone Always Tells (when interrupting a When Revealed ability, not when interrupting "The Winter Maid"). But remember that some events are not affected by this plot, depending on what your faction is (see above).

  • A card that is already revealed cannot be chosen as the target for an effect that would reveal it, in the same way that a kneeling card cannot be chosen as the target for an effect that would kneel it. That means you cannot choose a card in shadows for Littlefinger (AHaH) while this plot is revealed, and you cannot choose a card in shadows for A Traitor's Whisper if it can be neither revealed nor put into play.

  • Players are not allowed to rearrange the order of their cards in shadows. Once the cards stop being revealed, any player with a good memory should still be able to tell which card is which.

1162
The Defiance of Duskendale

Rules FAQ

  • Any location that was targeted by assault will automatically be knelt if the attacking player wins the challenge (and still controls an attacking character with the assault keyword). This happens before any reactions to winning or losing the challenge can be triggered.

  • Assault cannot kneel a location that is already kneeling. You will not be able to trigger the reaction in that scenario.

  • If you reveal this plot with Battle of the Trident, it will be much too late to trigger the reaction in that same challenge.

  • You do not have to be the attacking player in order to trigger the reaction. You can trigger it "against yourself", or during a challenge you are not involved in (in a melee game).

1162
The Seed is Strong

Rules FAQ

  • You only compare initiative when revealing new plots in the plot phase. That step is skipped when a player reveals a new plot with "The Rains of Castamere" or Battle of the Trident, so The Seed is Strong cannot be played at that time.

  • If the initiative values are tied, you must first break that tie to determine who wins and loses initiative. In a melee game, you still lose initiative even if some of the other "losing" players have a lower initiative value than you.

  • The reaction is triggered immediately after you lose initiative, before choosing a new first player, and well before resolving any When Revealed abilities. For instance, if Valar Morghulis is revealed, you would need to discard a card for The Seed is Strong before you could discard it for cards like Ser Rolly Duckfield or Umber Loyalist. Discarding a card for The Skahazadhan would come even later in this sequence.

  • Players are not allowed to rearrange the order of their cards in shadows. Once the cards stop being revealed, any player with a good memory should still be able to tell which card is which.

1162