Maester Harmune

Rules FAQ

  • Maester Harmune works with abilities that explicitly move gold from an opponent's gold to your own (for instance, A Meager Contribution), as well as with abilities that allow an opponent to "give" you gold from their gold pool (for instance, Brothel Madame).

  • If the revealed card is a character, you must discard it even if you would prefer not to (Missandei, House Dayne Escort, etc.).

  • If Missandei is revealed, the opponent can put her into play when she is discarded. If Alla Tyrell is revealed, the opponent can put her into play immediately. If it is a card, Margaery Tyrell (TIC) can place it in shadows. Sweetrobin can potentially remove the revealed card from the game. In all of those scenarios, you still draw a card if a character was revealed.

1255
Red Mountains

Rules FAQ

  • Red Mountains can be triggered in any action window in the challenges phase. The effect then persists until the chosen opponent has their next chance to initiate a challenge (in Step 4.2). If, during that step, that player is able to legally initiate a challenge against you, they must do so whether they wish to or not. If they cannot legally initiate a challenge against you at that point, they can proceed as they like, and the effect of Red Mountains is no longer relevant in the remainder of the phase.

  • After Red Mountains is triggered, the chosen opponent is not forced to create a situation where they would be able to initiate a challenge against you. In fact, they are allowed to avoid such a situation if they can. For example, they are not forced to use Syrio Forel to give their only standing character a icon, but they are allowed to use Starfall to remove a icon from their only eligible attacker.

  • In a Melee game, "a challenge against you" is a single condition that can either be met or not. If the chosen opponent cannot initiate a against you, they are not forced to initiate a challenge of a different type against you, nor are they forced to initiate a challenge against someone else. They can simply proceed as they like.

  • You are never able to initiate a challenge against an opponent you support.

1255
Does this card *prevent* the opponent from simply forgoing further challenges (and perhaps simply proceeding to Dominance)? If so, this card is very poorly worded. —
Sorry for the late reply, it's difficult to see these questions here. :) But yes, if you get to Step 4.2 where you can initiate your next challenge, you must initiate a military challenge if you can. You are not allowed to pass challenges. —
Ser Willam Wells

Rules FAQ

  • A character is considered to have a challenge icon or to not have that icon. A single character that has and/or is gaining the same challenge icon from multiple sources functions as if it has one instance of that icon. (See Challenge Icons.)

  • Ser William Wells causes a character to lose one instance of each icon. That contributes towards the overall calculation for whether that character is considered to have that challenge icon or not.

  • If the chosen character is already participating in a challenge, removing the corresponding challenge icon will not automatically cause it to stop participating or contributing its STR to that challenge. However, the ability may be combined with The Red Viper (OR) and similar cards.

  • You cannot save Ser William Wells when you trigger his ability. (See Saving from a Cost.)

1255
Lann the Clever

Rules FAQ

  • If you lose control of attached location, Lann the Clever will become illegally attached and will get discarded. That also happens if Lann the Clever's text box is blanked at any point (for instance, by Brother's Robes), because it will lose the play permission of being allowed to be attached to a location rather than a character. On the other hand, assaulting (or otherwise blanking) attached location will not cause Lann the Clever to become illegally attached.

  • If the reaction is canceled, the character is still returned to hand.

  • You can use the gold you get from Lann the Clever to pay the costs of other abilities in the same reaction window (for instance, "Hands of Gold"). Similarly, if Tywin Lannister (ChoS) is participating in the challenge, you can trigger Lann the Clever first to gain 3 gold, then trigger Tywin after to maximize his power gain.

  • Returning a character to hand may cause another character to be "attacking alone" for the purposes of triggering card abilities (for instance, Jaqen H'ghar).

1255
Qyburn

Rules FAQ

  • You cannot put a unique character into play from an opponent's dead pile if you or that opponent already control a copy of that card in play, or if there is a copy of it in either player's dead pile. (See Unique cards in play and in the dead pile.)

  • Even if Qyburn is no longer in play or if his text box has been blanked, the character is still removed from the game at the end of the phase.

  • The character cannot be saved from being removed from the game, but it can still be prevented from leaving play by an ability such as The Crone. If that happens, the character simply stays in play under your control.

  • If the character leaves play before the end of the phase, it always goes to its owner's out-of-play area. For instance, if it is placed in shadows by Banished from the Light, it will go to its owner's shadows area.

1255