The Warden of the West

Rules FAQ

  • The reaction works with claim, pillage, or any card ability that discards cards from an opponent’s hand or deck (such as Without His Beard or Wardens of the West). It also works with abilities that require cards to be discarded from hand as part of their cost (for instance, Consuming Flames).

  • Characters discard cards using pillage one at a time, so you will normally only be able to draw 1 card. However, it is possible for a single character to discard multiple cards using pillage (with Scouting Vessel, for instance), in which case you can draw more.

  • If Hotho Humpback is used during a challenge, players check reserve in turn, but all the cards one player discards for reserve are discarded simultaneously.

1162
The Halfman's Horde

Rules FAQ

  • The number of attacking Clansman characters is checked at the point when you trigger the reaction, not at the point when the winner of the challenge is determined. For instance, if you trigger Tyrion Lannister (LoCR) first and return one of your Clansman characters to hand, that character will not count towards your number of Clansman characters for The Halfman’s Horde.

  • Kneeling a location that was targeted by assault happens before reactions to winning the challenge can be triggered. That means you can still kneel a location even if you intend to use a card like Tyrion Lannister (LoCR) to return The Halfman's Horde to hand. You cannot use intimidate in this scenario though, because that would come later in the sequence.

1162
Torrhen's Square

Rules FAQ

  • Each individual Raider character must have a printed cost higher than your initiative value.

  • If a single character discards 2 or more cards using pillage, you can trigger reactions (such as Euron Crow's Eye (Core)) for each pillaged card.

1162
The Reader's Septon

Rules FAQ

  • You can choose yourself with this ability.

  • The players cannot look at either card, unless something else grants them that permission.

1162
Prince of the Narrow Sea

Rules FAQ

  • You only compare initiative when revealing new plots in the plot phase. That step is skipped when a player reveals a new plot with "The Rains of Castamere" or Battle of the Trident, so the reaction cannot be triggered at that time.

  • If the initiative values are tied, you must first break that tie to determine who wins and loses initiative. In a melee game, you still lose initiative even if some of the other "losing" players have a lower initiative value than you.

  • The reaction is triggered immediately after you lose initiative, before choosing a new first player, and well before resolving any When Revealed abilities. That means you can return a character to your hand before it is affected by a plot like Valar Morghulis (but not before it is affected by a plot like Blood of the Dragon).

  • Attached character itself may be returned to hand to pay the cost of the ability. The attachment will return to hand at the same time, but the effect will still resolve.

  • You must be able to choose both a character and a location in order to trigger the reaction (you are allowed to choose among your own cards as well). If you cannot choose two valid targets, you cannot return a character to hand even if that would benefit you.

1162