Crannogmen

Rules FAQ

  • A replacement effect is an effect (usually an interrupt) that replaces the resolution of a triggering condition with a different means of resolving that same triggering condition, but in such a manner that the triggering condition is still considered to occur. The word "instead" is frequently indicative of a such an effect. After all interrupts to the triggering condition have resolved and it is time to resolve the triggering condition itself, the replacement effect resolves instead. If multiple replacement effects are initiated against the same triggering condition, the most recent replacement effect is the one that is used for the resolution of the triggering condition. (See Replacement Effects.)

  • You can trigger multiple copies of Crannogmen in the same challenge if you wish to return them to shadows. However, only one character will be killed (the one chosen last).

1162
Defensive Debris

Rules FAQ

  • Defensive Debris will stop ambush, playing events, bringing cards out of shadows, as well as card abilities like Qotho. It will not stop cards returning to play if an effect that removed them from the game expires (for example, Coldhands).

  • If you choose a card with printed cost X, cards with printed cost 0 are also affected, and vice versa. If you choose a card with printed cost "-", no cards will be affected, because no cards have the same printed cost. For instance, you could choose A Pinch of Powder and still bring another copy of it out of shadows in the same phase.

  • If you have multiple copies of Defensive Debris in play, you can trigger each of them in the same phase. (See Limits and Maxima.)

1162
Maester Colemon

Could Maester Colemon move an attachment on a location - ie seized, frozen solid, or pyromancer's cache - to a character? Or would no characters be considered eligible due to the attachment's text?

Also, could Maester Colemon choose an attachment attached to an enemy character and move it to an ally character? —
A Traitor's Whisper

Rules FAQ

  • A card with shadow is any card with the printed "Shadow (X)" keyword and the shadow banner next to its gold cost. Any other card that had gained the shadow keyword while it was in play or in shadows will no longer have that keyword once it enters the discard pile.

  • You can play A Traitor’s Whisper even if one or more players have no cards in shadows. If you do, you must choose a card for each player that does have one in shadows though.

  • If you decide to "put those cards into play", you must attempt to put all of them into play, even if you do not want to. If a card cannot enter play in this way (for instance, due to its cardtype, a copy in the dead pile, Barring the Gates revealed, etc.), that card simply stays in shadows and stops being revealed once the effects of the event resolve.

  • Players are not allowed to rearrange the order of their cards in shadows. Once the cards stop being revealed, any player with a good memory should still be able to tell which card is which.

1162
Doran Martell

Rules FAQ

  • If any card you control in shadows already has the shadow keyword, Doran will cause it to gain a second instance of the shadow keyword, possibly with a different cost. When such a card is brought out of shadows, you may choose which instance of the shadow keyword is used.

  • A card will gain the shadow keyword from Doran even if it was placed in shadows by different means (for instance, Edric Dayne (HMW)). If Doran leaves play (or his text gets blanked), any card that has no other source of the shadow keyword will no longer have shadow. Such a card may still be brought out of shadows by a card effect though (for instance, Starfall Spy).

  • You lose dominance if an opponent wins dominance. In a melee game, multiple players can lose dominance, even if one of them has a lower total for dominance than the others. If there is a tie for dominance, no player wins or loses dominance.

  • Doran’s reaction is optional, but once you decide to trigger it, you must place one of the cards in shadows even if you do not wish to. Do not reveal any cards to your opponents when resolving this ability.

1162