Plot. Income: 5. Initiative: 2. Claim: 1. Reserve: 5. Plot deck limit: 2.

Edict. Winter.

Card abilities cannot cause characters to enter play.

Lukas Banas
All Men Are Fools #19.

Link: Decklists

Barring the Gates

Rules FAQ:

  • Ambush is a card ability, so it cannot be used while Barring the Gates is the revealed plot.

  • Card abilities also cannot cause characters to enter play as duplicates. (Source)

  • Lady-in-Waiting and Night Gathers... work as normal. (Source)

  • Here to Serve doesn't provide an option to add a Maester character to your hand. You may look through your deck, and you must shuffle it, but that's all.

  • Barring the Gates does not prevent characters removed from the game by Mace Tyrell, Journey to Oldtown or Coldhands from returning to play. It's an expiration of a lasting effect, not an active "cause".

  • Barring the Gates prevents characters from coming out of shadows.
mplain 237
Does it prevent my characters to come from my dead pile? — Normandwizard 20
Into play - yes. Close Call would work fine though. — mplain 237
What about Night Gathers? — scantrell24 3334
I interpret 'cause' as 'directly cause'. As in, the resolution of a card ability would result in a character entering play. Night Gathers doesn't put characters into play, so it doesn't directly cause characters to enter play. If you interpret 'cause' wider, as in 'without this ability you couldn't put this character into play', then you'd need to account for discounts and gold-generating abilities as well, no? — mplain 237
Prevents "Here to serve"? — Hasr 1
Yup. — mplain 237
What exactly happens withe "Here to serve"? Can the maester be searched and put in to hand or is it impossible to resolve at all? — stahlwolle 1
Here to Serve doesn't prodive an option to add a Maester card to your hand. You can look throught your deck, and you MUST shuffle it, but that's all. — mplain 237
Does it prevent Podrick Payne entering play considering its a cost? — mapvale 3
It does. A cost is still part of an ability. Barring the Gates refers to abilities in their entirety, not just their effects. — mplain 237
Barring the Gates prevents players from bringing characters out of shadows. — scantrell24 3334
You can still use Tarle to marshal dead characters. — scantrell24 3334
heir to the throne interraction any1? — belazhul 1
heir to the iron throne would have the same interaction as here to serve, but since no lord or lady can be put into play, you do not pay the sacrifice cost. — SonOfBattles1 436