Scorpion Knight

Rules FAQ

  • A character "gains" or "loses" a challenge icon whenever a card effect specifically uses that phrase. If a character stops gaining a challenge icon (for instance, due to an effect like "Off To Gulltown" expiring), that character is not considered to have "lost" that icon, and vice versa.

  • Scorpion Knight can react any time a character loses an instance of any challenge icon, even if the overall calculation for that character having (or not having) that icon has not changed. For instance, if Confinement is played on Hot Pie, Scorpion Knight can react 3 times. The same if Confinement is played on a character that previously had multiple instances of an icon.

  • Scorpion Knight can react to the effects of Imprisoned, Attainted and Condemned, but only immediately after they are first attached (or immediately after they regain their text box if they have somehow become blank).

1081
Just to add to that, this particular ruling is "official". Since "losing an icon" is a triggering condition that was never used previously, it was discussed between the GOT and the Design Team, and it was ultimately decided that the reaction works any time an instance of an icon is lost. That means it works even if the character still has that icon after the effect in question resolves, or if the character never had that icon in the first place. This also sets a precedent for any other reactions to a card "gaining" or "losing" a characteristic. —
Lady Whiskers

Rules FAQ

  • Note that, unlike Ser Pounce, Lady Whiskers does not give attached character the icon. You can attach it to Balerion if you like, but it will not do anything without additional cards. :)
1081
Casterly Rock

Rules FAQ

  • "Spend" refers to any ability that allows a player to choose to pay gold or move gold from his or her gold pool. This includes paying costs and moving gold for bestow. (See Spending Gold.)

  • You can choose any card in play, even if it does not have the bestow keyword or any other interaction with gold in its text. You can also choose a card with bestow that already has gold equal to or higher than its X value. You cannot add any gold to your gold pool with Casterly Rock.

1081
Ser Jaime Lannister

Rules FAQ

  • The Forced Reaction will not trigger if Jaime is already standing, or if Jaime "cannot stand" for some reason. It will also not trigger if a card comes into play as a duplicate.

  • If Freedmen or Mother's Men come into play with their ability and are discarded by Jaime, the card that enters the discard pile is considered to be a new instance of that card, so it can be triggered again from the discard pile in the same reaction window.

1081
Core jaime is a much better card, totally honest here but this is season 8 Jaime, terrible card. —
Pyke

Rules FAQ

  • You can ambush multiple copies of Jade Sea Dromond or any other Warship location with the limited keyword. The restriction of 1 limited card per round only applies to cards that are marshaled or played, but not to cards that are "put into play" using ambush.

  • A quantity cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero, so any 0-cost Warship in your hand will simply gain ambush (0).

  • Although the wording is somewhat unusual, it works just like any other "do X to do Y" ability. You kneel Pyke and choose a target first, and then your opponent can cancel the effect with cards like Treachery. (See Roose Bolton.)

  • Placing a card on top of a player’s deck is not the same as discarding that card. In other words, you can use a duplicate or Improved Fortifications to save a location against Pyke, but you cannot use Rimegate. Same with characters, a card like Family, Duty, Honor will still work, but Bodyguard will not.

  • The phrase "that player" refers to the card’s owner. If you target a card that is not under its owner’s control, it is the owner (not the controller of the card) who will draw 1 card at the end of the phase.

  • If the card is saved, the post-then part of the effect will not resolve, so the owner will not get to draw a card.

1081