House Baratheon. Loyal.
Location. Cost: 5.

Stronghold. Westeros.

During the challenges phase, characters without a icon cannot stand.

Reaction: After a or challenge is initiated by or against you, kneel Storm's End to change the challenge type to .

Ted Nasmith
Bran the Builder #3.

Link: Decklists

Storm's End

Rules FAQ

  • If the cost of an ability requires you to stand a character that "cannot stand", that ability cannot be initiated (for instance, Ser Dontos Hollard).

  • When you use Storm’s End to change the challenge type to , the original challenge type is still considered to have been initiated. For instance, you can still use Tyrion Lannister (Core) if an challenge was initiated, but you cannot use Lyn Corbray (FotS). Cards that refer to the challenge type later in the challenge (like Sunspear (Core) or Sarella Sand) refer to . Mhysa does not work during any challenge that becomes due to Storm’s End. It will still only work during the first challenge that was actually initiated as a challenge.

  • Initiating a or challenge still counts towards your permission for that challenge type, even if the challenge type is changed. In other words, if you initiate a challenge that gets changed to , you are still considered to have initiated your 1 challenge that phase, but not your 1 challenge.

  • If a character "does not kneel when declared as an attacker" in a particular challenge type, Storm’s End will not retroactively affect that. For instance, if Ser Jaime Lannister (Core) is declared as an attacker in a challenge, he will remain standing after Storm’s End is used. On the other hand, a character with Lady Whiskers attached will be knelt when declared as an attacker in a challenge, and will not stand if the challenge type is changed later.

  • Changing the challenge type also affects any modifiers or effects that apply during a particular challenge type. For instance, Ser Colen of Greenpools would have his STR increased, while a character with Traitor to the Crown attached would immediately stop contributing its STR to that challenge. Also, you can trigger reactions to winning or losing a challenge, but not reactions that refer to another challenge type. When you apply claim, claim is applied.

  • Losing a challenge that was originally initiated as a challenge of another type still counts for cards like Privileged Position or The Red Keep (Core). If A Game of Thrones is revealed and you change an challenge to , the winner of that challenge has not won an challenge.

  • The assault keyword is used before the reaction window to a challenge being initiated opens. If Storm’s End is targeted using assault, it will be blank before you can use it in that particular challenge. Winterfell shares the reaction window with Storm’s End. If Winterfell is used first, Storm’s End can no longer be used (assuming its controller does not have a Winter plot card revealed).

  • If Crown Regent is used to redirect a challenge, that challenge is still considered to have been initiated against the original opponent. That means you cannot use Storm’s End when a or challenge is initiated against another player and then redirected to you. But if a challenge is initiated against you and then redirected to another player, you can use Storm’s End to change the challenge type to , even though you are not involved in that challenge as the attacking or defending player.

Odrl 1164